My Biography

Hello!

383539_10151588125585607_34105160_n

Thanks for wanting to read more about me! Gee, where to begin..

I grew up a short 45 minute drive from Kamloops, in the rural community of Heffley Creek. I consider myself incredibly lucky to have had a childhood like mine; in the summers I rode horses and dirtbikes on the old logging roads and trails in the mountains behind my home, and during the winter I enjoyed skiing and snowboarding at a world class ski resort that was a 15 minute drive from my front door.

I have always been passionate about learning, and wanted to be involved in a career in education as long as I can remember. Currently I work at Thompson Rivers University in the Centre for Student Engagement and Learning Innovation as a Lifelong Learning and Engagement Coordinator. For a long time I wanted to work with kids, but after working several jobs at camp and in education programming, I wanted to try something different. I found that working at the university was immensely rewarding, it allows me to work in a field I’m passionate about, with students who are diverse and interesting. My job is different every day!

When I’m not at work I can be found hiking, biking, running and sometimes even walking in the outdoors surrounding Kamloops. A basic rule of thumb is; you can find me outside. I love to challenge myself with a good hike, and Kamloops has a ton of places for that kind of thing. To me, there’s nothing more rewarding than pushing myself physically to tackle a mountain top. I find that being in nature is incredibly calming and clears my head, when I need to think I like to go for a hike.

Another favourite hobby of mine is trail running, and competing in “fun run” races such as Color me Rad, Tough Mudder, The Night Race, and many more. This year I hope to run the Blackwell Dairy Race, and maybe even complete my first half marathon!

My face after running my second "Color Me Rad" 5K

My face after running my second “Color Me Rad” 5K

When I have the time I love to travel and see faraway places – past highlights include Scotland, the Czech Republic, the Bahamas, Fiji, Australia and New Zealand. During the summer of 2014 my roommate and I traveled to California.

On our tour cable car in San Francisco, Summer 2014

On our tour cable car in San Francisco, Summer 2014

This spring I finally achieved my dream of getting my own dog. Until now I have not had the time or ability to commit myself fully to owning a dog, so finally being able to get a dog is a huge achievement for me. My dog challenges me every day to be more active than I already am, to appreciate the little things because he loves me no matter what, and to just have fun because he wants to play all the time. Play. Sleep. Play. Sleep. Repeat.

Creative Commons License
Brianna McIlquham ePortfolio by Brianna McIlquham is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.